Economic Development

Economic Development is the business of growing and supporting business, and City staff oversee programs designed to promote healthy business in the City of Arcata.

EPA Brownfields Program

The City of Arcata was awarded a grant to cover certain costs of assessing brownfield sites through the Environmental Protection Agency.  Find more information here.

Business Assistance Loan Program

The primary economic development program is our Business Loan program. These business loans can be used to expand or develop a business in the City of Arcata.

Click here for the Business Assistance Program Guidelines, and for the loan application.

Microenterprise Loan Program

The relatively new Microenterprise Loan Program is designed for businesses with 5 or fewer employees that meet certain income criteria. The maximum loan amount is $50,000; rates range from 3% to 6%, and the term is flexible to meet borrower needs.

To find out if you are eligible for a Microenterprise Loan, use the Microenterprise Loan Checklist. If you're eligible, complete the Pre-Application Form, and call 822-5955 to make an appointment to discuss a loan in more detail.

Business of the Year Award

The City of Arcata has established an annual award program to recognize businesses that exemplify core values of innovation, resourcefulness, business collaboration, and business practices that support our community and protect the environment.

Citizens and businesses in Arcata are invited to submit nominations for the Business of the Year by submitting the 2020 Business of the Year Nomination Form to the City of Arcata’s Economic Development Committee. Submissions can be emailed to or can be dropped off in-person or mailed to the City of Arcata, Community Development Department, 736 F Street, Arcata, CA 95521.

2017 Business of the Year Award

Nomination Period Now Open

Make your nominations using this form, which also includes guidelines and information about how to get your nomination to the City.  If you know of a business that demonstrates values of innovationresourcefulnesscollaboration, and practices that support the community and our environment - now is the time to nominate them!  

The nomination period ends November 30, 2016.  Nominations can be emailed to, or delivered to the Community Development Department.