Wetlands & Creeks Committee Members

The Wetlands and Creeks Committee consists of seven members who have interest, knowledge or experience in wildlife, fisheries, watershed management, wetland ecology, wetland/riparian botany, water quality and/or Arcata's creeks. Of the seven members, five must live within Arcata City limits and two may live or work in the Arcata Planning Area. See current vacancies and residency qualifications.


Committee members serve three year staggered terms ending October 31.

Bob Brown, Chair
Term: 2015
Dan Gale
Term: 2016
Chris McAuliffe
Term: 2015
Vanessa Metz
Term: 2017
Bob Pagliuco
Term: 2017
Joe Seney
Term: 2015
Jeremy Svehla
Term: 2015
Staff Liaison: Julie Neander
Environmental Services
Powers and Duties

The powers and duties of the Wetlands and Creeks Committee are as specified in Arcata Municipal Code Sections 2238 to 2241. These powers and duties are outlined as follows:

A. To serve in an advisory capacity to the Council, Commissions or City Staff, as appropriate, in matters relating to the policies affecting creeks, riparian areas, wetland and tideland resources of Arcata.

B. To make recommendations to City staff on the management of vegetation, recreation, wildlife and fisheries of the City-owned wetlands and creek zones, including the Arcata Marsh and Wildlife Sanctuary.

C. To make recommendations to City staff on City-sponsored creeks and wetlands restoration and enhancement projects.

D. To make recommendations during the environmental review process on projects that may involve or affect a creek, riparian area, wetland or tideland resource of Arcata.

E. To provide community outreach and education in regard to stormwater pollution control, aquatic resources awareness, estuarine and riparian restoration and creek and wetland awareness issues.