Economic Development Committee Members

The Economic Development Committee consists of seven members who have interest, knowledge or experience in banking, real estate, the arts, agriculture, small business, tourism, industry, commerce, building, housing, science and technology or employee relations. Of the seven members, two must live within Arcata City limits and five may live or work in the City of Arcata or the Arcata Planning Area. See current vacancies and residency qualifications.


Committee members serve three year staggered terms ending January 31.

Darrell Burlison
Term: 2016

Maureen Hart
Term: 2016

David Rosen
Term: 2017
Fawn Scheer, Vice-Chair
Term: 2018
Brett Watson, Chair
Term: 2018
Jane Woodward
Term: 2017

Craig Wruck
Term: 2018

Staff Liaison: David Loya
Community Development Deputy Director
Powers and Duties

The powers and duties of the Economic Development Committee are as specified in the Arcata Municipal Code, Sections 2246 to 2250. These powers and duties are outlined as follows:

A. To serve in an advisory capacity to the Council, Commissions, or City staff as appropriate in matters pertaining to economic development, including but not limited to manufacturing, retail, tourism, business expansion and revitalization and agriculture.

B. To make recommendations to the Community Development Agency Board with respect to plans, projects and proposals affecting the Redevelopment Project Area and within the scope of the Redevelopment Plan.

C. To review economic trends and to make recommendations to strengthen the economic well being of the City.

Conflict of Interest

The Conflict of Interest Provisions of the City of Arcata Conflict of Interest Code, Title II, Chapter 8, apply to all Economic Development Committee members. Committee members must file California Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) Form 700s with the City Clerk's Office.