Community Development

The Arcata Community Development Department is composed of three branches whose primary purpose is to ensure development within the City complies with state, federal, and local laws. The three divisions of Community Development are: 1) Building, 2), Planning, and 3) Housing and Economic Development.

The Planning Division is responsible for long- and short-range planning and implementation, development review and permitting, environmental review, economic development, processing of annexations, housing, and grant applications and administration.

The Building Division ensures the health and welfare of the residents of Arcata by regulating the construction, use, and occupancy of buildings and other alterations through the application of standardized model building codes.

Housing and Economic Development Divisions are responsible for operating the affordable housing programs and business loan programs.

Successor Agency

The Successor Agency's role is to wind down the affairs of the former Redevelopment Agency.  Community Development staff, also staff the the Successor Agency.  The Successor Agency is overseen by the Oversight Board.